Three Branches of Government

The United States government is composed of three branches: the Executive, the Legislative, and the Judicial.They are represented by the President, Congress, and the United States Supreme Court. Each branch plays an important role in governing. 

The Three Branches of Government 

The Executive Branch

• Consists of the Executive Office of the President, the President’s Cabinet, and the Corresponding Independent Agencies

• Conducts Administration of the National Government, Enforces Federal Laws, and Regulates Government Agencies

The Legislative Branch

• Consists of the Senate, the House of Representatives, and various administrative agencies

• Makes, Repeals, and Amends Federal Laws

The Judicial Branch

• Consists of the Supreme Court (the highest court in the land), Federal District Courts, and Federal Courts of Appeals

• Handles cases that involve the U.S. Constitution and Federal Laws 

Note: Each state is governed by three branches of government, dealing only with issues at the state level. For specific information about your state government, please visit this website provided through the Library of Congress: